Tanzania World Fact - Hostel in Asia


Tanzania Tanzania is home, along with Kenia to the highest peak in the African continent, MOunt Kilimanjaro. And also offers some of the best places to see wildlife in their natural habitat. Tanzania is an idyllic paradise for those wanting to be in contact with mother nature. Tanzania has a strategic location, surrounded by the largest lakes in Africa and enjoying the Indian Ocean coast. Tanzania is inviting to all visitors.

Area: 943.049 Km²
Population: 36.232.000 (2001 est.)
Density: 38 pop/Km²

System of government: Federal Presidential Republic
Capital: Dar es Salaam (1.747.000 pop.)
Major cities: Mwanza 250.000 pop., Dodoma 200.000 pop.
Ethnic majority: Nyamwezi and Sukuma 21%, Swahili 9%, Hehe and Bena 7%, Makonde 6%
Border countries: Kenya and Uganda NORTH, Rwanda, Burundi and Democratic Republic of the Congo WEST, Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique SOUTH

Principal mountains: Kilimangiaro 5895 m
Principal rivers: Rovuma 800 Km (tanzanian tract, total 1000 Km)
Principal lakes: Lake Victoria 35.000 Km² (tanzanian part, total 68.100 Km²), Lake Tanganyika 14.000 Km² (tanzanian part, total 32.893 Km²), Lake Rukwa 3700 Km², Lake Eyasi 1200 Km²
Principal islands: Zanzibar 1660 Km², Pemba 984 Km²
Climate: Tropical

Language: Swahili, English (both officials)
Religion: Muslim 33%, Christian 33%, Indigenous Beliefs 33%
Currency: Tanzanian Shilling (TZS)

Fixed public holidays: 12/1, 5/2, 28/4, 1/5, 7/7, 9/12, 25/12
Dialling code: 00255
GMT: +3

World Heritage List: -